Over one billion people use Instagram every month, making it one of the most widely used social media sites in the world.
While this means that there are a lot of perfectly curated photos and stories to scroll through, it also means that the platform is ripe for scams. Numerous cyberattacks on Instagram have occurred this year, including one that used phishing to get past Gmail’s security measures.
Meanwhile, studies show that excessive use of social media platforms such as Instagram can harm your mental health. In fact, in 2021, Instagram attempted to suppress an internal study that revealed the app’s negative effects on adolescent girls.
Do you have concerns about your privacy? Are you being tested by flashy influencers? Do you want to devote more time to increasing your productivity rather than spending less time on Instagram?
How to temporarily deactivate Instagram or permanently how to delete/deactivate instagram account is explained in detail in this post.
Which Is Better For You: Deactivate or Delete?
Because Instagram does not want you to go, deleting your account is not your only option. You can also choose to deactivate it
How To Delete/Deactivate Instagram Account Or Temporarily Deactivate Your Instagram Account By Following Steps :
The main differences between deactivating and deleting Instagram are as follows.
|Delete/Deactivate Instagram Account||
Temporarily Deactivate Your Instagram Account
|The deletion of your Instagram account is permanent.||
If you deactivate your Instagram account, you can reactivate it at any time by simply logging in.
|Every photo, follower, like, and the comment you have on Instagram is permanently deleted when you delete your account.||
Your photos, followers, comments, and likes are all saved if you deactivate your account.
|You might lose your username if you delete your account because someone else might claim it.||
Your account is permanently hidden if you deactivate Instagram, but your username cannot be taken.
Deactivating Your Instagram Account
Not quite ready to abandon Instagram? If you believe that a brief separation is all that is required, consider deactivating your Instagram account.
Unfortunately, you cannot disable an Instagram account using the iPhone or Android apps. Use your computer or mobile browser to disengage from the social networking platform.
On a Computer Or Mobile Browser, Follow These Steps To Deactivate Your Instagram Account.
Your Instagram profile will be made anonymous and removed from search results. You can continue using your username, photos, likes, followers, and comments.
Keep in mind that when you log back into your account, it will be reactivated. Your Instagram account can only be deactivated once per week.
Permanently Delete Your Instagram Account:
If you want to totally deactivate your Instagram account, you must use a computer and a web browser. You can’t remove an Instagram account using the iOS or Android app.
Follow These Procedures To Permanently Erase Your Instagram Account.
|S.NO||Permanently Erase Your Instagram Account|
|1.||Use a browser to access Instagram. If you have multiple Instagram accounts, make sure you’re logged into the one you want to delete.|
|2.||If you have multiple Instagram accounts, make sure you’re logged into the one you want to delete.|
|3.||Navigate to the “Delete Your Account” screen. Unfortunately, there is no menu option to easily access this page, so you must use the direct link.|
|4.||The reason you want to delete your Instagram account can be chosen from the dropdown menu in the “Why do you want to delete [account name]?” section. Depending on the option you choose, you will be prompted for additional information.|
|5.||When you’re done, enter your Instagram account password once more.|
|6.||Click the “Delete my account permanently” button.|
All of the photos, likes, followers, and comments connected to your account will be immediately deleted. You will see the message “Your account has been deactivated.” “We’re sorry to see you go!”
Your Instagram account has now been deleted for all intents and purposes. The entire data associated with your account may not be removed from Instagram’s servers for three months, according to that social media platform. Instagram’s Data Policy states that, for legal reasons, some data may remain on its servers after the first 90 days.
Instagram is entertaining, but it can jeopardize your privacy and, in some cases, your mental health. There are various viewpoints on the proper way to use social media, but it is clear that taking a break is sometimes necessary.
You are free to delete or deactivate your Instagram account. When you’re ready to use social media again, Instagram and other platforms will be accessible.